Today’s Viewing

I went to bed rediculously early last night, had a nightmare then woke up at 5am bright as a button but unable to close my eyes again for fear of the demons returning. The following movies have filled my morning with joy…..

6 responses to “Today’s Viewing

  1. Ambersons is still my favourite film of all time, but doesn’t the hospital scene ending make you want to slap the nearest person?

  2. Yes!

    We’ve spent the whole picture coming to loathe Georgie and the film could’ve ended quite nicely with Orson’s voiceover about him getting his come-uppance just before we fade out to the accident that lands him in hospital. It would have been a nice bookend considering it’s mentioned by the irate townspeople at the start of the movie. It would’ve also worked in that he’s kneeling by a bed praying, which could be him saying sorry to his mother for denying her happiness.

    I don’t think this downbeat end would have antagonised the audience. If anything, Georgie becomes a tragic figure, forever left with the burden of what he’s done.

    Cotton’s speech to Fanny as he comes out the hospital room is overblown but Welles was (obviously) concentrating on the strength of his love for the dead woman…

    Incidently, Orson also wasn’t happy with the ending.

    Favourite movie of all time? Interesting. I feel a top 5 post coming on….. Feel free to expand.

  3. I think I’m in love with the movie that never was, rather than the movie that is there – although I love what exists.

    What fascinated me was that in Welles’ original boarding-house ending, the dialogue between Fanny and Eugene is exactly the same – only the different context and performances renders it (on paper and in the surviving stills at least) absolutely devastating.

    It was a good lesson for me in terms of how screenplays are open to interpretation.

  4. I think that ending would’ve worked far better. We’ll let him off though, Mr. Welles wasn’t reknowned for screwing up.

    Talking of screenplay interpretation…. Reading scripts before watching films is a great exercise. I’ve recently read the script to BARTON FINK but haven’t yet got round to watching the movie. It’s one of those situations where you have a whole picture in your head but no idea how it actually turned out. Like you say, it’s a great lesson and something all filmmakers should do. It’s also good fun and a little surreal to be thinking “Billy, why did you shoot it like THAT” as I did whilst watching SUNSET BOULEVARD shortly after reading the script.

  5. It’s been a long time since I’ve seen Barton Fink, but I was told before watching it that it was Welles-like. Not sure if I agreed or not, but it was an absorbing view.

  6. I love Barton Fink although not my favourite by the brothers Coen, I think that goes to Millers Crossing which is a masterpiece in my humble.

    I’m never sure what the Coen’s were trying to say at the end of Fink and I’d be intrigued to know what was made of it from the screenplay alone as it was such a visual climax.

    John Goodman is a Joy in both Oh Brother and Fink and certainly seems to do his best work as a part of the Coen’s ensemble cast.

    Given my love of The Odyssey I was a fairly easy sell when it came to Oh Brother and the Soggy Bottom Boys still have a place on my iPod for those overcast Monday mornings on the way to work.

Leave a Reply

